Stuart Hayes takes Windsor Triathlon 2015 title

Past and present British Triathlon royalty adorned the race circuit and sidelines today as Human Race Event’s Windsor Triathlon celebrated its 25th edition. Aptly, a stalwart of the UK tri scene for much of Windsor’s existence, 2012 Olympian Stuart Hayes, was crowned the 25th men’s winner, with Sarah Lewis taking home the women’s title.


The debut Windsor Triathlon kicked-off in June 1991 as part of the 220 Triathlon Series and, 24 years later, its inaugural (and six-time) winner Spencer Smith was hollering support to athletes on the infamous Castle Climb. Whereas that debut race – organised by John Lunt and Jasmine Flatters, who were in attendance today – attracted 250 athletes via postal, fax and phone entries, the sell-out scenes today saw nearly 3,000 triathletes take to the Thames waters in front of Windsor Leisure Centre, a return to that debut race’s swim location.

Happy 25th edition Windsor Tri! A return to the Leisure Centre swim start used on first race in 1991. #WindsorTri25

— 220Triathlon (@220Triathlon) June 14, 2015

The first of the 28 waves kicked-off at 6am with the men’s sprint (47 and above), with the Olympic-distance waves starting 20mins later, leading up to the final ‘Race with the Stars’ sub 2:30hr wave at 8:40am consisting of Windsor legends (Stu Hayes and Richard Stannard), elite athletes (Dan Halksworth) and top age-groupers.